Designing A Crochet Hat – by Sue from SusanD1408 Crochet Addict

I would like to say a huge thank you
To Megan for inviting me here today.

This is me with my son Little Red
Who is my inspiration!
I love designing Animal Themed items
I sell the finished product and the crochet patterns.

Today I would like to talk about the process of designing a hat.
It’s important to start with a good basic design

I start with my basic hat.
I then alter it
with earflaps, brims and other option.
I choose the right colour of hat for the animal.

This is the design for my dragon hat.
Then I start the process of designing each piece
I search for pictures on the internet of the animal I am making
And look at each feature I want adding to my hat.
The first thing I decided on was nostrils

Then the eyes

It’s important to get the colour of the eyes right
and the shape.
As each part is added to the hat you can see what needs adding.
In this case the eyes needed something more so an eyelid seemed the best option.

The eyebrows worked but it still wasn’t looking like a dragon

The ears made all the difference!
I still wanted more personality in this hat
So decided to add some brows & wings

Last but not least a dragon needs fire

As you can see from each part the personality of the hat
can change vastly with each piece that is added.
I hope you enjoyed seeing the process
of my hat being created.
You can find me at:
Blog:                            http://crochetaddictcfs.blogspot.co.uk
2 thoughts on “Designing A Crochet Hat – by Sue from SusanD1408 Crochet Addict

  1. Susan your dragon hat is lovely. I like how your dragon's personality is built upon as you design it. That is how my creations are formed. I sometimes start out with an idea and then it sort of creates itself.

Leave a Reply

